take time

I talked on the phone with a friend about my life and she asked how she could be praying for me. I spent 2 hours in my friend’s room talking about our initial thoughts of each other and our hopes for next year. I spent my much anticipated and planned nap time catching up with an old friend from Young Life. I got sangria with a friend I haven’t hung out with since summer, and got to listen to her journey through some struggles. I’m going to church tomorrow (holla) and with friends I haven’t spent time with since last semester.

I’m not the best at keeping in touch with people. It’s a lot of work, having friends, and actually being good at it. It takes time, energy, trust, but even with my current friends I can suck at spending time with people. Quality time is not my strongest love language. I’m very time conscious and sometimes have a hard time (lol punny) not constantly looking at my watch. If the conversation is not stimulating, and we are still talking about the weather or the Kardashians or someone’s outfit from last night, I’m out. I do love people, but I love time spent with them to be fruitful and beneficial.

coffee-date

But this past week, I’ve said yes to spending time and investing a little more with people. Talking on the phone isn’t my favorite form of communication, but I was shown a lot of love and care through that conversation. I don’t really like staying up too late, but I feel even closer to the person than before that. I somehow always convince myself that catching up on sleep is more important than life, but I reconnected with someone I missed a lot. I got to be that person my friend might’ve needed during that time.

I’m a super introspective, and I’m quite content with doing things by myself. I often prefer it. There are days where I just want to curl up in my bed, eat sunchips, and binge watch Parks and Rec (everyday). Those moments are precious, however the companionship of others has really showed me.

I’m not entirely sure where I was going with this blog post. But I just wanted to say I’m thankful for the people in my life and I’m trying to spend as much time with these gems.

Leave a Reply

